Cork’s Public Museum contains a large selection of fascinating artefacts ranging from prehistory to the 20th Century beautifully arranged in meticulously designed display cabinets.

Established in 1910 at Mardyke walk, Cork, Ireland the Museum is owned and operated by Cork City Council. The treasure trove of artefacts range from prehistoric times to 20th Century.

Walking to the Museum: From the City Centre, walk eastwards towards Fitzgerald Park. The above image illustrates the position of Fr. Matthew Statue in Saint Patrick’s Street. Passing through the Grand Parade along the Western Road, you’ll pass by the Courthouse and UCC Gates before turning onto The Mardyke Walk and arriving at the Park.

Housed in a mid-19th century building within Fitzgerald Park in the Mardyke area of the city, the museum’s exhibits focus mainly on the history and archaeology of the Cork area. Exhibits range from Pre-History to the 20th Century. Click here for more information.

Browse the 3D interface below for more information.

Building history

The original museum building is a converted Georgian house within Cork’s Fitzgerald Park. Built in 1845 by the Beamish brewing family,the house and gardens were purchased by Cork Corporation to become part of the 44-acre site of the 1902 Cork International Exhibition. During the 1902 exhibition (a type of “world’s fair”), the house hosted visiting dignitaries and royalty such as Edward VII and Queen Alexandra.Following the exhibition, much of the site and gardens were repurposed as a public park, and in 1910, the house was reopened as a museum.Part-used as a local authority air-raid protection office and shelter, the museum partially closed during “The Emergency” (WWII) and reopened in 1945.It was managed by University College Cork until the 1960s, when museum administration reverted to the city council.A single-storey extension was added ahead of Cork’s tenure as European City of Culture 2005, and includes increased exhibition space and a café.